Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Book Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Book Review

*SPOILERS BEWARE SPOILERS BEWARE SPOILERS BEWARE*

I was really looking forward to reading this book (unfortunately I wasn’t able to see the play!) and I’m sorry to say  that the book was- drumroll please! ……………

A complete and utter disappointment. Okay it wasn’t all bad, but it certainly didn’t live up to my expectations.

The Storyline:

I really dislike the time turner- is that just me? It confuses me, and a whole story of going back and forth with the dreaded thing just wasn’t my cup of tea. On a completely unrelated matter, I don’t even like tea, I’d much prefer a hot chocolate with whipped cream and marshmallows. Mmmmmm…. Now where was I?                                                      Oh yes, storyline. Now Voldemort having a daughter with Bellatrix isn’t right! Voldemort cannot love! Plus, wouldn’t people have REALISED? I just really don’t think it makes any sense.

The Characters:

First the trolley witch, I loved this new side to her! I thought it was pretty awesome getting to see such an underrated character getting her time in the limelight!

Albus. Where to start? The kid was a spoilt brat with terrible ideas. Honestly I don’t even know what the kid would be like without Scorpius.

Ahh, Scorpius. Everyone’s favourite. I  don’t think he belongs in Slytherin, I pictured him more in Ravenclaw. Now let me get this straight. This is not because of the stereotype all Slytherins are evil and Scorpius is a good guy. No. Scorpius is indeed resourceful (a Slytherin trait) yet he wasn’t very ambitious – he’s more a follower than a leader. He is obviously very smart and he really seems to have such a thirst to learn and I like that about him. I think that makes him more Ravenclaw. Or maybe in Hufflepuff (my house!), he’s a nice person and he’s hard-working.

The Golden Trio. is it just me? They didn’t seem all that close at all. It certainly wasn’t like in the books. Ron barely made an appearance, I mean it was cute when he stood up for Hermione (ROMIONE FOREVER!) but Ron wasn’t the same.

The Writing:

I think the story is probably better when you actually watch it, instead of reading the script. Something that made the Harry Potter books so interesting was the amount of detail, the unanswered questions, things that are impossible to portray in a script! Maybe that’s all that was missing.

Overall:

I was disappointed. You, on the other hand, have every right to disagree, let me know what you think in the comments. Feedback is always appreciated. Also if you have done the Pottermore sorting hat quiz/ patronus quiz/ ilvermony house quiz let me know your results in the comments below! I am a proud Hufflepuff and Pukwudgie and am in love with my Goshawk patronus.

Quirky Fangirl xx

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Book Review

  1. SLYTHERIN!! AND PROUD! 🐍 Also Scorpius is my favourite! (is anyone else thinking the snake emoji looks like a green poop or is it just me?!)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yay! Go you! I’m a Hufflepuff (and also very proud!) but I love all fellow Potterheads regardless of their house! Actually I consider myself to be a ‘muggle-born squib’, everyone who I’ve said that too thinks I’m mad. But it just makes so much sense in my head! Yes, Scorpius is amazing! Plus I’ve never really thought of the snake being green poop but I can kinda see it now!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

