Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Review

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Review

For those of you who read my last blog post, a review of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, you will know I was not too pleased with the outcome. Fantastic Beasts on the other hand…. Oops! Almost forgot!

*SPOILERS BEWARE! SPOILERS BEWARE! SPOILERS BEWARE!*

Let’s get started now that’s out of the way!  Fantastic Beasts was amazing. Breathtaking. It was literally just like returning home to Hogwarts. Threw my expectations OUT THE WINDOW. Although the plot was a little confusing at first it really was worth it after you let it sink in and then you just understand. Like magic! Was that just me, being stupid, or did everyone else feel that too?

The Characters:

Newt Scamander: Totally not bragging- but did you know he was a Hufflepuff? Sorry, I really shouldn’t brag but FINALLY, AFTER YEARS OF BEING THE UNDERDOG I -sorry we- HAVE RISEN TO THE GLORY WE DESERVE! BWAHAHAHAHAHAAHA!! Okay, okay I swear that really was it… I’m just a very proud Hufflepuff! (Also did you know Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson was also a Hufflepuff?! Hmmm..)

Sorry, let’s get back to actually reviewing to this fabulous (HUFFLEPUFF)  character. Newt is lovable and adorable (perfectly portrayed by Eddie Redmayne- who is also a Hufflepuff.) Although he does have his flaws. He may not be the most responsible character but to be honest, wouldn’t it be worse to have an annoyingly perfect hero. Everyone has flaws and Newt has flaws too. His imperfections made him perfect (Hey, I’m totally Disney material- springing up a cheesy quote out of nowhere- I’d be delighted to be your next princess Disney..)

Tina Goldstein: I feel like she’s a grown-up Hermione. She avoided troublemakers – when she could – like the plague and lectured Newt mercilessly. She seemed to have memorised all the laws and was able to recite them with ease. And she certainly isn’t bad with her wand! Yet what makes her most like Hermione is her big heart hidden under her professional business woman cover. It was her big heart that got her into trouble when she tried to stick up for Credence. She lost the job that she had worked so hard for and deserved more than anyone. Ultimately, her heart is bigger than her brain and her snobbiness is something so familiar to us Potterheads it made us love her even more!

Queenie Goldstein: I feel like she’s quite underrated. She is a legilimens. That is not easy. She’s super sweet and although she’s portrayed quite dumb when we first meet her, we see later on she is quick to make up a cover story and is ready to fight by her sister no matter what. She reminded me of Luna, sweet and seemingly innocent but she’s clever, strong and definitely makes a contribution.

Jacob Kowalski: Ahh, the muggle or should I say the no-maj. There’s not really much to say, is there? (NO HATE THOUGH, I LOVE THE GUY) He was a loyal friend till he got obliviated. His relationship with Queenie was adorable. This sounds pretty mean but he really is just your average guy, although from what I’ve seen, he’s an amazing baker

Credence: Do I even need to explain his character? I will say though, if his fringe was just a little longer I’d take him way more seriously. Like, I could not take him seriously with his haircut. Is that just me? Does anyone else feel that way??

Overall:

All the plot twists, the amazing creatures (my favourite was the Bowtruckle!) all fit together perfectly to make a great movie. I absolutely loved it!

I’d love to know what you guys thought of the movie, let me know in the comments section below! Any feedback is always appreciated!

Quirky Fangirl xx

 

 

3 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Review

Leave a Reply

